Eleven skiers draw national academic accolades

Eleven skiers draw national academic accolades

COLCHESTER, Vt. - Eleven Saint Michael's College skiers drew United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association (USCSCA) National Collegiate All-Academic Ski Team nods for this past season, being lauded for posting a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade-point average.

Qualifiers must also compete at a regional championship, as six members of the Nordic squad and four Alpine members were honored after racing at the Eastern Intercollegiate Ski Association (EISA) Championship last month. Nordic skiing junior Chloe Boutelle (Saratoga Springs, N.Y./Saratoga Springs) also earned the accolade despite missing the championship to embark on a second-semester study-abroad program.

Five women from the Nordic program were lauded in Boutelle, sophomore Brianna McKinley (Moultonborough, N.H./Moultonborough Academy), and first-years Hallie Bergwall (Lebanon, N.H./Lebanon), Catie Corrigan (Canajoharie, N.Y./Canajoharie Central School) and Julia Snyder (Fairfax, Vt./BFA-Fairfax). Junior Sam Hammond (Oakdale, Minn./North) and sophomore Samuel Fogg (Rutland, Vt./Rutland) represented the men's team. Hammond earned the laurel for the third consecutive season, while Boutelle, Fogg and McKinley all qualified for their second honor.

Within the Alpine portion of the program, senior Shannon Conroy (Auburn, Calif./Home Schooled), sophomores Brad Farrell (West Windsor, Vt./Sharon Academy) and Willow Smith (Bradford, Vt./Oxbow), and first-year Abigail Hotaling (Fabius, N.Y./Fabius-Pompey) were all recognized. Conroy was lauded for the third straight season, while Farrell, an NCAA Championship qualifier, garnered his second nod.

Learn What Matters