18 Saint Michael's Field Hockey Players Earn National Academic Nods, Team Honored

18 Saint Michael's Field Hockey Players Earn National Academic Nods, Team Honored

COLCHESTER, Vt. - Eighteen members of the Saint Michael's College field hockey team qualified for the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Collegiate Division II National Academic Squad for this past fall, while the Purple Knights earned an NFHCA Collegiate National Academic Team Award for the 14th consecutive year.

Sophomore MaKayla Foster (Middlebury, Vt./Middlebury Union) and first-year Molly Humiston (Kittery, Maine/R.W. Traip Academy) not only qualified for the National Academic Squad but were also among 66 Division II student-athletes to be named NFHCA Scholars of Distinction for putting together a minimum cumulative 3.90 grade-point average through the first semester of the 2017-18 school year. Purple Knights have now been Scholars of Distinction 10 times in the past five years combined.

Seniors Jenna Deschaine (Claremont, N.H./Stevens), Micaela Hajduk (Winthrop, Maine/Winthrop) and Jackie Matthews (Auburn, Mass./Auburn) were among 46 players to land on the National Academic Squad for the fourth time in their careers, as 14 hailed from the Northeast-10 Conference. With 18 of the 30 student-athletes on its roster being honored, Saint Michael's is fourth in the NE10 in National Academic Squad qualifiers, just three short of leader Southern New Hampshire University. The Purple Knights are one of 27 programs to draw the team accolade, with 10 from the NE10.

In addition to Deschaine, Foster, Hajduk, Humiston and Matthews, those honored on the National Academic Squad were juniors Maddy Dobecki (Scarborough, Maine/Scarborough), Morgan Johnston (Newburyport, Mass./Newburyport), Claire Kondrotas (Barre, Mass./Quabbin Regional), Katie Leonard (Carmel, N.Y./The Ursuline School) and Nicole White (Cranston, R.I./Lincoln School); sophomores Nell Criscione (Boxford, Mass./Masconomet Regional), Maggie Daley (Slingerlands, N.Y./Bethlehem Central) and Claire Scherf (Bethlehem, Conn./Nonnewaug); and first-years Maddie Green (Newburyport, Mass./Newburyport), Katriona Hajduk (Winthrop, Maine/Winthrop), Erin LaMarca (Raynham, Mass./Bridgewater-Raynham Regional), Brooke Pohly (Burtonsville, Md./Springbrook) and Hannah Wilmot (West Townsend, Mass./Saint Bernard's Central Catholic).

Johnston, Leonard and White earned their third career National Academic Squad honor, while Criscione, Daley, Dobecki, Foster and Scherf each claimed their second.

The National Academic Squad recognizes student-athletes that have achieved a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.30 through the first semester of the 2017-18 academic year, while the team award recognizes programs that achieved a minimum 3.0 GPA during the first semester.